Home » health » Homeopathy, Herbs and Popular Supplements

Homeopathy, Herbs and Popular Supplements

One of the most frequent misconceptions that occurs among the lay public is that homeopathy and herbal remedies are the same thing. I understand where the confusion arises: both are manufactured from natural occurring substances. So, therefore herbal supplements are safe, no?

No. No they are not!

Homeopathic remedies (of which there are more than 3,500) are made from naturally occurring substances such as herbs, plants, flowers, bugs, minerals and even non-tangible things such as X-rays and gases such as hydrogen. The process is highly refined and specialized and made under strictly defined conditions. A substance such as calcium, for example, will be diluted to the point at which nothing of the original substance remains. It is also succussed, or shaken. This dilution is made using water or alcohol, and then it is then added to lactose-based pillules ( tiny pills) or it may be dispensed in a solution. The remedy is taken sublingually and should be allowed to dissolve,  not swallowed or chewed.

Herbal remedies, on the other hand, employ the actual plant, root or leaf containing the desired medicinal properties. This is no different to many pharmaceutical medicines because the chemical compounds or substances are going to have side effects, or cause allergic reactions in some unfortunate people ( like me!) I am not always sure that the vitamins and supplements really contain the best quality since the manufacture of these is not regulated by the FDA, whereas homeopathic remedies are very strictly supervised.

Vitamins can cause side effects, such as nausea which I discovered to my detriment. I am unable to take anything containing nicotinamide (Vit. B3), Vit. C, Vit. D and the popular supplement COQ10. They cause nausea and make me feel really ill. I have never experienced side-effects from homeopathic remedies which are seldom taken long term. You stop taking the remedy as soon as you begin to feel better. The rule is: it’s not how much you take of the remedy, it is how often. When I lived in South Africa I once sent a vial of pillules to school for my daughter who was not well, and the teacher gave her an entire vial instead of a mere capful. I called my homeopath and he assured me she would be fine, and she was. I had to get another dose from him because she needed to take another three doses of the remedy. She had no reaction to the “overdose” whatsoever.

Please educate yourselves about supplements, don’t blindly buy them because some celebrity endorses them. It is better to get your vitamins and minerals from healthy foods than swallowing tablets! I know not everyone is allergic to them, but as my old dad used to say ( and he was an M.D.), “They just get peed out, no point in taking them!”

Homeopathy is safe, gentle and has been used for more than a hundred years. It is very popular in Europe and South Africa, Australia, India and New Zealand.

Disclaimer: This article is merely meant to inform and not to diagnose, treat or prescribe. Consult a medical doctor if you have serious health issues.


Leave a comment